Build an open, inspiring, and collaborative startup community

Mission

The OSMO Foundation is a non-profit organization whose mission is to support the growth, development, and international success of Montréal’s startup ecosystem. Thanks to the Notman House, it offers a vibrant and accessible environment to all, which stimulates collaboration as well as knowledge transfer and know-how between the different community actors. The OSMO Foundation thus contributes to building the future of Montréal.

Manifesto

At the heart of OSMO’s vision is a belief that the communities in which entrepreneurs grow, thrive and build world-changing companies need to be sustainable. Sustainability in this context has four underlying commitments:

  • a commitment to openness and inclusivity;

  • a commitment by entrepreneurs to invest in the development of their leadership capacity;

  • a commitment to a social contract of peer and mentor exchanges of knowledge; and

  • a commitment to broad stakeholder sustainability – including shareholders, employees, customers, suppliers, communities, families, cities and the planet.

OS MO SIS

The biological process of |

Community projects for entrepreneurs

OSMO’s first project was to renovate a historic house and transform it into a technological hub for Montréal startups. Since then, Notman House has become the focal part of OSMO’s mission, a place where different actors from the ecosystem can meet, such as startup founders, the corporate world, investors, universities, and government institutions, allowing them to contribute to building a collaborative community

Powered by OSMO and CIFAR, the AI4Good Lab is an academic training program which lasts seven weeks, and which brings together a group of 30 women, from all over Canada. The program consists in a mix of conferences, workshops, and self-managed team projects. Instructors and mentors are university researchers, graduates and practitioners from various startups, companies, intergovernmental organizations and municipal governments. The focus is also placed on curiosity-based learning and mentorship, by peers and area experts. The Lab has the ambitious goal to tackle diversity and inclusion in the world of research and AI development, to inspire the next generation of technical leaders to make AI a force for social good. 

TechAide is a platform for the Montréal tech ecosystem to give back to our local community. By bringing together tech entrepreneurs and professionals with diverse backgrounds and life stories with a common goal to combat social exclusion and poverty by raising funds, mobilizing resources and encouraging innovative approaches, we help Greater Montréal community agencies achieve their goals. Since 2016, Techaide has collected $1.3M for Centraide.

In 2018, OSMO and Mtl inc. answered the Québec government’s invitation to create a regional innovation hub in Montréal. That is how, in 2019, Bonjour Startup Montréal was born, a non-profit organization whose mission is to accelerate creation, growth and the success of Montréal startups, to position the city as one of the most dynamic ecosystems in the world.

The Startup Community Awards are an event organized by the OSMO Foundation and MTL NewTech. The two editions of Startup Community Awards have celebrated all those that have contributed to the development of Montréal’s startup ecosystem: people, places, and organizations which, often, work without recognition.

OSMO BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Alan Macintosh

Co-Founder & Board Member, Real Ventures
President

John Stokes

Co-Founder & Partner,  Real Ventures
Secretary, Treasurer

Richard Chénier

General Manager, Centech Mtl
Administrator

Louis-François Hogue

Strategic Advisor & Interim COO, Symgery
Administrator

Philippe Telio

Founder, Startupfest
Administrator

Louis Vachon

President and Chief Executive Officer, National Bank Administrator

Claudine Bronfman

Co-Chair, Claudine & Stephen Bronfman Family Foundation Administrator

Anne Martel

Co-Founder, Chief Administrative Officer,Element AI
Administrator

Jean Nicolas Delage

IP lawyer; co-leader, Technology, Media and Telecommunications Group at Fasken
Administrator

A OSMO initiative

51 Sherbrooke Street West
Montreal, QC
H2X 1X2

Join us

info@notman.org
514-657-2833

Newsletter
X

Bâtir une communauté startup ouverte, inspirante et collaborative

Mission

La Fondation OSMO est un organisme à but non lucratif dont la mission est de soutenir la croissance, le développement et le rayonnement mondial de l’écosystème des startups de Montréal. Grâce à la Maison Notman, elle offre un milieu vibrant et accessible à tou.te.s qui favorise la collaboration ainsi que le transfert des connaissances et du savoir-faire entre les différents acteurs de la communauté. La Fondation OSMO contribue ainsi à bâtir le futur de Montréal.

Manifeste

Au cœur de la vision d’OSMO se trouve la conviction que les communautés dans lesquelles les entrepreneur.e.s grandissent, prospèrent, et créent des entreprises qui changent le monde doivent être durables. Dans ce contexte, la durabilité comporte quatre engagements sous-jacents :

  • un engagement d’ouverture et d’inclusion ;

  • un engagement des entrepreneur.euses à investir dans le développement de leur capacité de leadership ;

  • un engagement envers un contrat social d’échange de connaissances entre pairs et mentors ; et

  • un engagement en faveur de la durabilité des parties prenantes – y compris les actionnaires, les employé.es, les client.es, les fournisseurs, les communautés, les familles, les villes et la planète.

Osmose. Nom féminin

Processus biologique |

Des projets communautaires pour les entrepreneurs

Le premier projet d’OSMO a été la rénovation d’une maison patrimoniale en un hub technologique pour les startup montréalaise. Depuis la maison Notman est au cœur de la mission d’OSMO, un lieu où se croisent les différents acteurs de l’écosystème, tels que les fondateurs de startups, le milieu corporatif, les investisseurs, les institutions universitaires et gouvernementales, et contribue ainsi à bâtir une communauté collaborative. 

Le AI4Good Lab est un programme de formation académique de sept semaines qui réunit une cohorte de 30 femmes de partout  au Canada. Le programme consiste en un mélange de conférences, d’ateliers et de projets d’équipe autogérés. Les instructeurs et les mentors sont des chercheurs universitaires, des étudiants diplômés et des praticiens issus de startups, d’entreprises, d’organisations intergouvernementales et de gouvernements municipaux. L’accent est également mis sur l’apprentissage par la curiosité et le mentorat, tant par les pairs que par les experts du secteur. Le Lab a l’objectif ambitieux de s’attaquer à la diversité et à l’inclusion dans la recherche et le développement de l’IA, et d’inspirer la prochaine génération de leaders techniques pour faire de l’IA une force pour le bien social.

TechAide est une plateforme permettant à la communauté technologique de Montréal de redonner à la communauté locale. TechAide réunit des entrepreneurs et professionnels en technologie aux parcours et aux histoires de vie multiples dans le but commun de lutter contre l’exclusion sociale et la pauvreté, de collecter des fonds, de mobiliser des ressources et d’encourager les approches innovantes, pour aider les organismes communautaires du Grand Montréal à atteindre leurs objectifs. Depuis 2016, Techaide a amassé 1.3M$ pour Centraide.

En 2018, OSMO et Mtl inc. ont répondu à l’appel du gouvernement québécois pour créer un pôle d’innovation régional à Montréal. Ainsi est né, en 2019, Bonjour Startup Montréal, un organisme à but non lucratif dont la mission est d’accélérer la création, la croissance et le rayonnement des startups de Montréal pour positionner la métropole parmi les écosystèmes les plus dynamiques au monde.

Startup Community Awards est un événement organisé par la Fondation OSMO et Montréal NewTech. Les deux éditions du gala des prix de la communauté de startups de Montréal ont célébré tout.te.s celles et ceux qui contribuent au développement de l’écosystème montréalais de startups : les personnes, les lieux et les organisations qui, le plus souvent, travaillent sans reconnaissance. 

Conseil d’administration

Alan Macintosh

Cofondateur et membre du conseil d’administration à Real Ventures
Président

John Stokes

Cofondateur et partenaire à Real Ventures
Président

Richard Chénier

Directeur Général, Centech Mtl
Administrateur

Louis-François Hogue

Conseiller stratégique & Interim COO, Symgery
Administrateur

Philippe Telio

Fondateur de Startupfest
Administrateur

Louis Vachon

Président et chef de la direction de la Banque Nationale
Administrateur

Claudine Bronfman

Co Présidente de la Fondation de la famille Claudine & Stephen Bronfman
Administratrice

Anne Martel

Cofondatrice, directrice administrative à Element AI
Administratrice

Jean Nicolas Delage

Avocat en droit de la propriété intellectuelle ; co-chef du groupe Technologie, médias et télécommunications à Fasken
Administrateur

Une initiative d'OSMO

51 Rue Sherbrooke Ouest
Montréal, QC
H2X 1X2

Nous joindre

info@notman.org
514-657-2833

Infolettre
X